The police crash report, the NJTR-1, is the first document everyone asks for. In New Jersey it is a public record. Which agency holds yours depends on the road you were on, not the town you were in.
Garces, Grabler & LeBrocq, P.C. · Edison · New Brunswick · Perth Amboy · AVAILABLE 24/7
630 of 638
reportable Turnpike truck crashes in Middlesex were State Police reports
2021–2025, FMCSA crash file
$5
for a Turnpike or Parkway crash report on the NJSP portal
NJSP/NJTA crash report portal, as of September 2026
14 business days
the portal's stated wait for a roadway report to appear
NJSP crash report portal help page, as of September 2026
Turnpike, Parkway, I-287 and most NJ 440 crashes are State Police reports, sold through the NJSP portal. Route 1, Route 9, Route 18, Route 130 and the county roads are almost always town police reports. The tables below show which is which, then how each of the 25 Middlesex towns hands out its reports and what it charges, as of September 2026.
| Road | Reportable truck/bus crashes | Reported by NJSP |
|---|---|---|
| NJ Turnpike | 638 | 630 |
| Garden State Parkway | 30 | 30 |
| I-287 | 161 | 154 |
| NJ 440 | 72 | 64 (3 by Port Authority Police) |
| US 1 | 449 | 2 |
| US 9 | 339 | 0 |
| US 130 | 115 | 1 |
| NJ 18 | 178 | 1 |
| CR 535 | 94 | 0 |
Reportable truck and bus crashes in Middlesex County, 2021–2025, FMCSA crash file. Every crash not reported by NJSP was a town police report. The Turnpike, Parkway, I-287 and NJ 440 are typically handled by the State Police; US 1, US 9, US 130, NJ 18 and the county roads are typically handled by the town. Involving a truck does not mean the truck caused the crash.
Where
njportal.com/njsp/crashreports. Anyone can request a report; no account is needed.
NJSP/NJTA crash report portal
Fees
$13 for a non-toll road report (I-287, NJ 440, state highways NJSP patrols). $5 for a Turnpike or Parkway report. $20 for the serious/fatal investigation records (photos, statements, digital media), which require a subpoena or court order.
NJSP portal, as of September 2026
Timing
Up to 14 business days for a roadway report to appear. Up to one month for serious/fatal records. Once ready, a report stays downloadable for 14 days. Reports are kept for 6 years from the year of the crash.
NJSP portal help page
Fatal Turnpike or Parkway crashes
The NJTR-1 for a fatal crash on the Turnpike or Parkway is available only through the NJ Turnpike Authority's OPRA form, not the portal.
NJSP portal
Contacts
NJSP records: 609-882-2000 ext. 2234. NJTA crash hotline: 732-442-8600 ext. 2431.
NJSP portal; NJTA
Port Authority Police (Outerbridge Crossing)
If Port Authority Police investigated, the report is sold through LexisNexis BuyCrash for $17. Mail requests are not accepted.
Port Authority Police records page
NJ Transit Police (NJ Transit bus crashes)
Email the Records Division with your name, phone, the incident date and a copy of photo ID. Release takes 5 to 10 business days. Call us and we will send the request for you.
NJ Transit Police records page
Rutgers University Police (campus roads)
BuyCrash, usually 5 to 7 days. 55 Paul Robeson Blvd, New Brunswick, (848) 932-6512.
Rutgers Public Safety
| Town | Department / phone | How to get the report | Fee / timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Carteret | Carteret PD, 230 Roosevelt Ave · (732) 541-4181 | Call us and we'll get it for you | Not posted |
| Cranbury | Cranbury Twp PD · dispatch 732-329-4646 (South Brunswick PD dispatches for Cranbury) · Records records@cranbury-nj.com, (609) 664-3238 | Call us and we'll get it for you | Not posted |
| Dunellen | Dunellen PD, 355 North Ave · 732-968-3000 | CrashDocs.org | Not posted |
| East Brunswick | East Brunswick PD Records Bureau, 1 Jean Walling Civic Center Dr · 732-390-6900 (Records 732-390-6922) | In person or CrashDocs. Crashes before Dec 1, 2018: LexisNexis. DPPA form for requesters who were not involved. | Fees per Township Code §3-114 · usually ready within 7 business days |
| Edison | Edison Division of Police, 100 Municipal Blvd · dispatch (732) 248-7400 | In person at headquarters | $0.05 per letter page, $0.07 per legal page · 7–10 business days |
| Helmetta | Policed by Jamesburg PD under shared services · 732-521-0011 | Call us and we'll get it for you | Not posted |
| Highland Park | Highland Park PD, 222 South 5th Ave · (732) 572-3800, Records ext. 4211, records@hpboro.com | Call us and we'll get it for you | Records Bureau M–F 8–4 · fee not posted |
| Jamesburg | Jamesburg PD, 227 Gatzmer Ave · 732-521-0011 | Call us and we'll get it for you | Not posted |
| Metuchen | Metuchen PD, 500 Main St · 732-632-8500, Records 732-632-8550 / 8551 | Records Bureau, M–F 8–4 | Fee and online option not posted |
| Middlesex Borough | Middlesex Borough PD, 1101 Mountain Ave · 732-356-1900 (Records x250) | Accident/Incident Report Request Form by email or fax (732-667-9677), with ID; online request option | Not posted |
| Milltown | Milltown PD, 39 Washington Ave · 732-828-1100 | Ordered through LexisNexis | Fees may apply |
| Monroe Township | Monroe Twp PD, 3 Municipal Plaza · 732-521-0222 or 609-655-3250 · Records & Reports 732-521-1966, M–F 8–4 | Call us and we'll get it for you | Not posted |
| New Brunswick | New Brunswick PD Records Bureau, 25 Kirkpatrick St · Records (732) 745-5212, records@nbpdnj.org | In person, by mail or email, or online through LexisNexis BuyCrash | $0.05 / $0.07 per page, plus $5 if not in person · cash only at the window, no credit cards |
| North Brunswick | North Brunswick PD, 710 Hermann Rd · 732-247-0922 | CrashDocs.org portal (agency ORI NJ0121500); report numbers look like YYYY-NNNNNN | Township says reports download "free of charge" |
| Old Bridge | Old Bridge Township, 1 Old Bridge Plaza · 732-721-5600 (township main) | Call us and we'll get it for you | Not posted |
| Perth Amboy | Perth Amboy PD, 365 New Brunswick Ave · non-emergency 732-442-4400, main 732-324-3800 | Pick up at the Records window, 732-324-3840; ID required | Not posted |
| Piscataway | Piscataway PD, 455 Hoes Lane · (732) 562-1100 | CrashDocs.org; questions (732) 562-2309 | About 5–7 days to post |
| Plainsboro | Plainsboro PD, 641 Plainsboro Rd · 609-799-2333 | CrashDocs.org or Records Bureau (609) 936-0039; window 8:30–1 | 7–10 business days |
| Sayreville | Sayreville PD, 1000 Main St · (732) 727-4444 | Call us and we'll get it for you | Not posted |
| South Amboy | South Amboy PD, City Hall, 140 N. Broadway · call the department for its records line | Records pick-up Tue–Thu, 8:30–4 | "Nominal fee" |
| South Brunswick | South Brunswick PD, 540 Ridge Rd, Monmouth Junction · station 732-329-4646, Records 732-823-3970, pdrec@sbpdnj.net | BuyCrash (LexisNexis), in person, or mail a check | $8 online · $0.05 per page in person · $5 by mail |
| South Plainfield | South Plainfield PD, 2480 Plainfield Ave · 908-755-0700 | CrashDocs | Not posted |
| South River | South River PD, 61 Main St · (732) 238-1000, Records 732-257-6727 x103 | Free in person or by email; online at crashdocs.org/nj-southriverpd | Free in person or by email · online fee applies |
| Spotswood | Spotswood PD, 77 Summerhill Rd · 732-251-2121 | Records Bureau or CrashDocs. Crashes before Dec 1, 2018: LexisNexis | About 7 business days |
| Woodbridge | Woodbridge PD, 1 Main St · 732-634-7700, Records 732-602-7390 | Records Bureau pick-up, ground floor of the municipal building, M–F 8:30–4:15, Tuesdays to 6:30. State Police reports: go to NJSP. | $0.50 per page |
Methods, phones and fees were taken from each department's or municipality's own website on September 29, 2026 and are current as of September 2026. "Not posted" means the department's page did not state a fee. Rows marked for confirmation are towns whose report method was not published online; we will obtain those reports for you.
Under N.J.S.A. 39:4-131, the investigating officer's crash report "shall not be privileged or held confidential." Copies are sold at the OPRA copy fee, $0.05 per letter page and $0.07 per legal page, and a department may add up to $5 only when the copy is requested other than in person. Online vendors such as CrashDocs and BuyCrash add their own convenience fee to that, which is why the same report can be free at the records window and $8 online.
If you were not a party to the crash, expect personal information drawn from motor vehicle records to be redacted under the federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act. Several Middlesex departments require a DPPA form from uninvolved requesters.
Boxes 50–52
The carrier's USDOT number and the motor carrier's name and address. The officer is instructed to record the carrier responsible for the cargo, and the NJTR-1 manual warns that the number painted on the door "may not be that of the carrier responsible for the vehicle/load."
NJTR-1 Crash Report Manual, 2017 edition
Box 108
Vehicle type. Code 25 is a tractor-semitrailer; 20–21 are single-unit trucks; 24 is a bobtail tractor.
NJTR-1 manual
Box 114
Cargo body: 03 enclosed box, 04 cargo tank, 06 dump, 09 garbage/refuse, 12 intermodal container chassis.
NJTR-1 manual
Boxes 118–119
Apparent contributing circumstances for each driver, up to two each: unsafe speed, inattention, following too closely, brakes, tires, coupling. The officer records these even when no ticket is written.
NJTR-1 manual
Box 145
The narrative. It must summarize each driver's and witness's account and note whether photos were taken. That note is the cue to request the photos.
NJTR-1 manual
Wrong carrier?
If the report names the wrong company, the police department can file an NJTR-1 change report with NJDOT. If the department disagrees, nothing changes, which is one reason to raise it early and with documentation.
NJTR-1 manual
“To protect your claim, a truck accident lawyer can preserve evidence, review company records, and identify responsible parties.”
Garces, Grabler & LeBrocq, P.C.
State Police troops, town police, the Prosecutor's Fatal Crash Unit and what each produces.
Read more →The 7-day camera window, 180-day body-cam retention and the 6-month electronic logs.
Read more →Most reports here are State Police reports at the $5 toll-road fee.
638 Turnpike crashes, 2021–2025 Read more →447 of 449 reportable truck crashes were town police reports.
449 crashes, 2021–2025 Read more →If you would rather not chase the report yourself, Garces, Grabler & LeBrocq, P.C. will get it for you. No Fee Unless GGL Wins.